When is the next bank holiday in 2017? All the public holidays and long weekends coming up in the UK

THERE’S nothing like a three-day weekend boost the mood, and there are still a few bank holidays on the horizon.

Whether you’re planning a long weekend away or just craving an extra lie-in – here’s the lowdown on the rest of 2017’s bank holidays.


If a bank holiday falls on a weekend, it will normally be shifted to the following monday

When is the next bank holiday?

The next bank holiday you can look forward to is on Monday May 29.

Bank or public holidays do not have to be given to employees as paid leave, an employer can decide whether to include bank holidays as part of a worker’s statutory leave.

The Government website has more details on what your worker’s rights are in regards to public holidays.

Bank holidays may also impact how benefits are paid, the gov.uk website explains how they may be affected.

Next public and bank holidays in the UK

Monday May 1 2017

Monday May 29 2017

Monday August 28 2017

Monday December 25 2017

Tuesday December 26 2017

Monday January 1 2018

Spring and summer bank holidays in 2017

There are two bank holidays in May, the first one fell on May 1 and the second will be taking place on May 29.

But don’t worry, these aren’t the two that will let you enjoy the warmer season.

The final summer bank holiday takes place on the last Monday in August – this year it falls on August 28.

shopping centre

A day of rest for some . . . Shopping centres are notoriously busy for their boxing day sales

Christmas and New Year 2017

This year’s Christmas bank holidays will fall on Monday December 25 and Tuesday December 26.

During the bank holidays, shops may be shut or have reduced opening hours.

Make sure you check the store’s website to avoid being caught out.

What is a bank holiday?

A bank holiday is a public holiday in the UK, where most people are given an extra day off work.

It was Liberal MP John Lubbock who first tabled the Bank Holidays Act of 1871 and said its aim was to ease pressure on workers by giving them an extra four days off.

At that point, those days were Easter Monday, the first Monday in August, Whit Monday and Boxing Day.

Over the years more have been added, and the UK now has a total of eight bank holidays – including Christmas Day, May Day and New Year’s Day.

They were given the name bank holidays as banks are closed, which in turn means if they aren’t doing business, no-one else can.